Aontú leader Peadar Tóibín has called on people to gather at the Dame Street gate of Dublin Castle at 4pm tomorrow, Friday 17th January to remember the people who were killed by the RIC and the Black and Tans and to remember those who fought for Irish freedom 100 years ago.

An Teachta Tóibín stated:

“Aontú is committed to honouring the memories of those who gave their utmost in defence of the Irish Republic and the Irish people’s right to self-determination.

“Tremendous people power was exercised last week to force Fine Gael to row back on its intention to commemorate the Crown Forces. The RIC’s primary objective and motivation was to hold this country in the British Empire and suppress the democratic will of the Irish people.

The organisations that Fine Gael planned to commemorate, the RIC and the DMP, were arms of the colonial regime. Those organisations steadfastly rejected the overwhelming mandate for Irish independence given in the 1918 election.

“The RIC’s track record goes further back in time. The RIC ensured the removal of food from Ireland during the Great Hunger, suppressed the Young Irelanders and Fenians, evicted peasants from their homes and took the side of the landed establishment in the Land War. The DMP identified the leaders of the Easter Rising and sent them forward for execution. The DMP was notorious for the brutality it meted out to striking Dublin workers in 1913, beating at least two people to death.

“The Black and Tans and Auxiliaries were brought into the RIC in 1920. On Friday we will remember their victims and those who bravely stood up against the Crown Forces that were determined to extinguish Ireland’s claim to independence.

“It is our understanding that singers and musicians will be also present outside the Castle tomorrow to emphasise the deeply felt pride that the Irish people have in those who fought and died for our freedom in 1920 and the widespread opposition to establishment efforts to rehabilitate British colonial forces in official Ireland’s historical narrative.


Leader of Aontú Peadar Tóibín TD